To work on a psych ward...

I'll tell you what the fuck I do.

I hold my tongue as every slur you've ever heard (and more besides) is thrown at me in an attempt to break my calm.

I cajole anorexics into eating, only to have them report me for abuses that never happened as revenge.

I hold a kid's hand so he doesn't rip open his stitches, and get bit in the process.

I nearly dislocate joints pulling a 200+ lb kid away from the bully who's been egging him on.

I cancel plans to work extra shifts, and come home with new scars.

I wash blood (and worse) off hands, off arms, off legs. Mine and theirs.

I use coverup over bruises left by psychotics so that when I go on dates, no one thinks I'm abused.

I cut phone cords and blankets off of kids' necks as they try to strangle themselves, and keep a cool face when they scream at me for saving their lives.

I go home to an empty house, drink green tea, and stare at the book I've made of all the letters they've ever written to me.

I cry as I reread them, kids thanking me for my patience, for my willingness to listen, for treating them respect. I trace the words that form the phrase “you saved my life,” and I feel my heart begin to heal just a bit.

Sometimes, I think I make a difference.

Alltså jag började typ gråta av den sista delen. Tänk att stå ut med så mycket för att få den bekräftelsen att man räddat så många liv. Häftigt alltså


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

goaldigger.blogg.se

Mitt liv kort och gott. Allt om träning, kost, mitt jobb, tips och tricks etcetc.

RSS 2.0